Do You Need Prayer?

PrayerRequests for prayer to be posted on our Prayer Site (requires registration and login) may be called in to the church office or e-mailed to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it Your request will be handled promptly and with care, but is also subject to review and editing.

You may also join the Prayer@PBC Group on facebook to post prayer requests and read others' requests for prayer and praise (Phil. 4:4-7).

Prayer and Praying

Prayers and references to prayer appear in sixty-two of the sixty-six books of the Bible — all except the Song of Solomon, Obadiah, Haggai, and 2 John. Several books give considerable attention to prayer: Genesis, Numbers, Judges, Matthew, Luke, Acts, 2 Corinthians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1 and 2 Thessalonians, James and 1 Peter. The Book of Psalms stands in a class by itself as a book of prayers.  Generally speaking, the Old Testament contains information about prayer, and the New Testament stresses its importance.

The Bible presents God as the One who has communicated with us and who invites us to communicate with Him.  Since He is the sovereign Creator and we are finite creatures, we need to know what He has revealed about how we can and should communicate with Him.  The Christian's relationship to our Heavenly Father is the most important one that we enjoy. So it is essential that we know how to communicate with God acceptably and effectively." —Tom Constable in "Prayer — Talking to God;" a free online resource available at

Prayer for Leaders
"First of all, then, I urge that petitions, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for everyone, for kings and all those who are in authority, so that we may lead a tranquil and quiet life in all godliness and dignity. This is good, and it pleases God our Savior, who wants everyone to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth" (1 Timothy 2:1-4).

PBC Leaders

Elders: Leading and Shepherding

Tomas Alonso
Mike Busch
John Draper
Robert Matthews
Warren Mull
Larry Murray
John Smyder
Curt Whiteside

Deacons: Facilitating Ministry Needs

Nathan Boe
Harry Blackmon
Tom Castro
Scott Hester
Jorge Hernandez
Scott Keith
Marc Lewis 
Gregg McKenzie
Brant Newsom
Jimmy Van Den Heuvel
James Wallace

PBC pastors and staff: Implementing Vision and Coordinating Ministry with various leaders

Donna Blackmon
Jennifer Edmunds
Larry Murray

City of Plano Leaders:

City Council:

Mayor, Place 6- Harry LaRosiliere
Mayor Pro Tem, Place 4 - Lissa Smith
Deputy Mayor Pro Tem, Place 2 - Ben Harris
City Council Place 1 - Pat Miner
City Council Place 3 - André Davidson
City Council Place 5 - Jim Duggan
City Council Place 7 - Pat Gallagher
City Council Place 8 - Lee Dunlap
City Manager - Bruce D. Glasscock

Police Chief: Gregory W. Rushin with his staff of 341 sworn officers, 145 civilian employees, and 100 civilian part time employees who are dedicated professionals.

Fire Chief: Hugo R. Esparza with 319 uniformed and 11 non-uniformed men and women.

Plano Independent School District Leaders:

President, Place 3 - Nancy Humphrey
Vice-president, Place 5 - David Stolle
Secretary, Place 4 - Michael Friedman
Place 6 - Marilyn Hinton
Place 7 - Missy Bender
Place 2 - Carrolyn Moebius
Place 1 - Tammy Richards

Superintendent of Schools - Brian T. Binggeli

PBC Area Principals

Dooley Elementary: Saul Laredo
Foreman Elementary: Tramy Tran
Meadows Elementary: Sandra Muzquiz
Armstrong Middle School: Steve Ewing
McMillen High School: Brian Lyons
Plano East Senior High: George King

Collin County:

County Clerk - Stacey Kemp

County Commissioners

Precinct 1 - Susan Fletcher    
Precinct 2 - Cheryl Williams 
Precinct 3 - Chris Hill
Precinct 4 - Duncan Webb

District Attorney - Greg Willis

County Judge - Keith Self

District Court Judges

Angela Tucker - 199th District Court
Scott Becker - 219th District Court
John Roach, Jr. - 296th District Court
Ray Wheless - 366th District Court
Benjamin N. Smith - 380th District Court
Mark Rusch - 401st District Court
Chris Oldner - 416th District Court
Cynthia Wheless - 417th District Court     
Jill Willis  - 429th District Court

Justices of the Peace

Precinct 1 - Paul Raleeh
Precinct 2 - Jerry Shaffer
Precinct 3-1 - Chuck Ruckel
Precinct 3-2 - John Payton
Precinct 4 - Mike Yarbrough

Sheriff - Terry Box

Texas State Leaders:

Texas State Senator Senate District 8 - Senator Van Taylor
Texas State Representative House District 89 - Representative Jodie Laubenberg

Governor - Greg Abbot
Lieutenant Governor - Dan Patrick
Attorney General - Ken Paxton
Comptroller - Glenn Hegar
Commissioner of General Land - George P. Bush
Commissioner of Agriculture - Sid Miller
Railroad Commissioner (Chairman) - Christi Craddick
Railroad Commissioner - David Porter
Railroad Commissioner - Ryan Sitton

Supreme Court of Texas

Chief Justice - Nathan Hecht
Justice Pl 2 - Don R. Willett
Justice Pl 3 - Debra Lehrmann
Justice Pl 4 - John Phillip Devine
Justice Pl 5 - Paul Green
Justice Pl 6 - Jeff Brown
Justice Pl 7 - Jeffrey S. Boyd
Justice Pl 8 - Phil Johnson
Justice Pl 9 - Eva M. Guzman

United States National Leaders:

U.S. President - Barack Obama
U.S. Vice President - Joe Biden

U.S. Supreme Court Justices:

Chief Justice - John G. Roberts, Jr.
Associate Justice - Antonin Scalia
Associate Justice - Anthony M. Kennedy
Associate Justice - Clarence Thomas
Associate Justice - Ruth Bader Ginsburg
Associate Justice - Stephen G. Breyer
Associate Justice - Samuel A. Alito, Jr.
Associate Justice - Sonia Sotomayor
Associate Justice - Elena Kagan

Texas U.S. Senators

John Cornyn
Ted Cruz

Texas U.S. Representative Congressional District 3 - Sam Johnson

U.S. Senate Leadership  

President Pro Tempore - Orin Hatch

Majority (Republican) leadership
Majority Leader: Mitch McConnell
Assistant Minority Leader (Majority Whip): John Cornyn
Conference Chairman: John Thume
Policy Committee Chairman: John Barrasso
Conference Vice Chair: Roy Blunt

Minority (Democratic) leadership
Minority Leader and Conference Chair: Harry Reid
Assistant Majority Leader (Majority Whip): Dick Durbin
Caucus Vice Chair and Policy Committee Chair: Chuck Schumer

U.S. House of Representatives Leadership

House Speaker - John Boehner (R)
Majority (Republican) leadership
Majority Leader: Kevin McCarthy
Majority Whip: Steve Scalise
Majority Chief Deputy Whip: Peter Roskam
Conference Chair: Cathy McMorris Rodgers
Policy Committee Chairman: Luke Messer
Conference Vice-Chair: Lynn Jenkins
Conference Secretary: Virginia Foxx

Minority (Democratic) leadership
Minority Leader: Nancy Pelosi
Minority Whip: Steny Hoyer
Assistant Minority Leader: Jim Clyburn
Caucus Chairman: Xavier Becerra